Algoma Area Chamber of Commerce Beacon Award Winners Celebrated

 In Chamber, Community, Member News



Nearly 90 people gathered at the historic Hotel Stebbins for the annual Algoma Chamber Beacon Awards.  Recently renamed from former BIE Awards, the new name “Beacon” captures the essence of the signature Algoma lighthouse and promotes a feeling of everlasting strength and bright rays of light in the community. The businesses and people who were nominated for the awards embodied the sentiment.

President Tracy Nelson, East Shore Industries, commenced ceremonies as the following businesses and organizations were honored for their contributions to the Algoma area community.

Business of the Year – Scenic Shore Inn, presented by Chamber Board of Director, Jim Rabas of Algoma Motors. Given for incredible commitment to community and tourism industry with recent addition of 12 rooms, conference space, pool, sauna and lounging deck. Scenic Shore Inn is owned by Laurie and Kristina Griffin and Bob Davis.

Rising Star – Yardstick: Bookshop and Gallery, presented by Sue Hass of the Algoma Book Corner. Yardstick, owned by Heidi Raak, is a new business to downtown Algoma.  Raak was commended for her innovative programming, including the establishment of a monthly letter writing club (open to public), book curation and overall commitment to the betterment of Algoma.

Lighthouse Award for Volunteering – Abigail Robinson, presented by Teal Vanlanen, Rev. Jennifer Emert, Katie Horn, Erin Ballone and fellow Algoma High School students David Garrels, Anna McClure, and Elizabeth Jerome. Robinson, an Algoma High School senior, was nominated for the newly created volunteer award for her creation of a mentorship program, Wolves and Pups, where high school students work one-on-one with young students on a range of skillsets from hygiene to positive attitudes.

Education – Emily Rankin, Algoma Elementary School presented by educators Jamie Robinson and Logan Reid. Rankin was recognized for her compassion and success in working with students with disabilities at the Algoma Elementary School. Her peers also commented that her playful nature, often culminating in office pranks, keeps spirits high and attitudes positive.

Employee of the Year – Seth Schroepfer, CTI Hospitality, presented by his employer Chet Kiedrowski.  Schroepfer celebrates his 17th year with the CTI, a manufacturer of custom wood products that are sold to hotels/door and window companies throughout the US.  Schroepfer began as a carpenter and now leads the builders as shop manager. He was commended by Kiedrowski for his “get-it-done” attitude, vast knowledge and reliability.

In addition to the Beacon Award presentations, the Chamber also recognized Allie Groessl and Judy Srnka for over 25 years of volunteer service to the Chamber.



Recent Posts
Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text. captcha txt
Bruemmer Park Zoo