Shanty Days Honorees

2021 Shanty Days Honorees Katie Brandt & Tina Lawrence

2021 Shanty Days Honorees Katie Brandt & Tina Lawrence


The Algoma Area Chamber of Commerce has announced that Katie Brandt and Tina Lawrence have been selected as the 2021 Shanty Days honorees. Both have been an integral part of the Shanty Days celebrations over the years serving as the coordinators for both the Arts and Craft Fair and the Street Fair components of the city celebration for more than ten years.

Co-owners and operators of  The Country Cupboard in downtown Algoma, Katie and Tina have been in business together for nearly five years. Their shop on 4th Street features locally crafted items from snacks to kitchen gadgets to bath and body products and everything in between.

Coordinating the Shanty Days fairs is no small task. This year’s event features nearly 100 arts and crafts vendors and nearly 60 street fair vendors. As coordinators, Katie and Tina ensure registration materials are ready and distributed, the appropriate fees are collected, vendor spots are assigned, and assist in the set up and tear down of the events. They are always there to ensure the vendors have the best Algoma experience possible and the committee recognizes their efforts as crucial to the success of Shanty Days.

2021 Mayor’s Honoree Luncheon
Each year the Mayor of Algoma hosts the Mayor’s Honoree Luncheon.  Mayor Wayne Schmidt is hosting the 2021 luncheon to honor Katie and Tina on Friday, August 13, 2021 at Homestead Kitchen and Tap located at N7551 Co Rd D in Algoma, WI.

Event Details

  • Time: 11AM: Cash Bar, Noon: Buffet Lunch
  • Cost: Tickets are $15 each including tax and gratuity.

Tickets available at the
Algoma Visitor Center
1226 Lake St.
Algoma, WI

Visitor Center Hours
Monday – Saturday, 10AM-5PM
Sunday 10AM-1PM.

Tickets are limited!

Past Honorees Include:

2019- Sharon and Wayne Grosbeier

2018- Paul Schmidt

2017 – Aric and Brad Schmiling

2016 – Mary Dier

2012 – Judy Srnka

2011 – Bob and Jane Kuhn

2010 – Jerry Matuszek

2009 – Jerry and Bonnie Seiler

2008 – Merle and Kathy Colburn

2007 – Jan Dart

2006 – Jim Rabas Jr.

2005 – Earl Krueger

2004 – Mahlon Dier

2003 – Whitey Ellsworth

2002 – Gene & Ione VanPrice

2001 – Lee Rush

2000 – Maynard Zima

1999 – Ray Fulwiler & “Page” Knipfer

1998 – George Miller

1997 – Reiny Krause

1996 – Larry & Ann Schmitz

1995 – Edgar “Tiny” Nell

1994 – Clif & June Harmann

1993 – Emil Pagel

1992 – James Rabas Sr.

1991 – Ernie & Mabel Haack

1990 – Ron Leist

1989 – Jag Haegele

1988 – Art Dettman

1987 – “Toots” Wenniger

2021 Sponsors






Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text. captcha txt
Skip to content